Web Sites (and More!) for Book Lovers

 

Web Sites and More for Book Lovers

 

Welcome to our select list of websites that the librarians at Pamunkey have found useful. This is by no means an exhaustive list.  Websites change often. These have been recently checked, but may disappear or move without any warning. Please report any missing or broken links to ask@pamunkeylibrary.org.

 

While the Internet contains lots of up-to-date information, it is not the only source of information on books and reading. Please remember to check with Pamunkey Regional Library's friendly staff when you are doing research for any project that includes book discussion groups. They will be able to direct you to many print sources that you may find helpful.

 

ALA's Links for Book Lovers

Author Blogs and Web Sites

Book Clubs at the Library

Nancy Pearl (Seattle librarian and author of "Book Lust" series)

Check out our Readers' Advisory playlist on YouTube.

Commercial Web Sites

Forthcoming Titles

Finding Best Sellers

LibraryThing

Literary Awards

Open Books Radio

Personal Review Websites

Pick of the Week

Reader's Advisory Databases

Reading Group Guides

Reviews and Magazines Articles

Sources for Booklists

Talk Totes

Titles in Series

 

Forthcoming Titles

Love to read the latest books?  Take a look at our list of upcoming titles now on order for the library.  You can go to PamCat, our online catalog and place your hold before these books arrive at the library.  Dates listed are expected release dates.  Availability may vary.

 

Back to top of page

 

Finding Best Seller Titles in PamCat

It's easy to Best Sellers in PamCat!  On PamCat's home page (at www.pamcat.org, look for the heading "Best Sellers" under the main search box.  Best seller lists for the New York Times and Washington Post are highlighted.  To see even more lists, click on "More best seller lists."

 

Back to top of page

 

Pick of the Week

Visitors to the library's blog can find librarian recommended titles by clicking on the tag, "Pick of the Week."

 

Back to top of page

 

Book Clubs

Several of our branch libraries have book clubs where book lovers can get together and talk about their favorite reads.  Book club meeting times are listed on the calendar.  For more information about book clubs, please call or visit your local branch library.

 

Back to top of page

 

LibraryThing

Find people with similar reading tastes with LibraryThing. You can catalog with Amazon, the Library of Congress or 680 other world libraries. Import from anywhere. Get reading recommendations. Tag your books and explore others' tags. Even put your books on your blog.

Check out PRL's LibraryThing.

 

Back to top of page

 

NoveList Plus, our Readers' Advisory online database

NoveList Plus

Find Your Next Book To Read:

NoveList Plus helps readers of all ages find interesting books to read.  Search for reviews, read-alikes, series information, and more! Have your library card number handy if your are searching at work, home, and school.

 

Back to top of page

 

Nancy Pearl (Seattle librarian and author of "Book Lust" series)

Nancy Pearl, librarian, author, and speaker is the go-to source for what to read next. Her web site is a great source for reviews, book club news, online reading groups, book blogs, and more!

 

Back to top of page

 

Reading Group Guides

Reading Group Choices

This is the first place to try on the web for book guides and author information.  The Paz Associates have created a collection of many (but not all) of the Reading Group Guides issued by publishers and in their own publication, "Reading Group Choices". This does not index Oprah's Book Club.

 

Publishers who have EXTENSIVE lists of Reading Group Guides include:

Back to top of page

 

Commercial Web Sites

Almost all of these sites are trying to make money in one-way or another. However, they do all have interviews with a variety of authors.  Each has different access points to the interviews.

Back to top of page

 

Literary Awards

Amazon, Barnes and Noble and Borders all have their own list of Award winners on their web sites.  You can also search the web using the name of the award you are interested in.  NoveList Plus also have extensive awards listings.

 

Back to top of page

 

Sources for Booklists

There are lots and lots of booklists maintained by individuals or libraries on the web.  These are some of the most interesting that I have found.

  • Morton Grove Public Library, Morton Grove, IL: This library has a very extensive page for Reader’s Services.  It includes “Web Sites for Book Lovers”, “Thinking Out Loud” (a book discussion group) and over 120 different booklists compiled by librarians from all over the country.

  • NoveList Plus: available through the Pamunkey web site at home or at the library

  • Oprah's Book Club: See all of the Oprah book selections and discussion questions here.

  • Oprah Readalikes: Portland Library's (Maine) read-alike suggestions for Oprah's Book Club.  It's a general list of novels similar to titles chosen for Oprah's Book Club.

  • Reading Woman: This book club claims to have started when Oprah was 16.

Back to top of page

 

Personal Review Web Sites

There are a wide variety of personal review web sites. They often come up when you do a search of the web by title or author. These three sites are regularly updated and maintained.

Back to top of page

 

Titles in Series

Back to top of page

 

Reviews and Magazine Articles

The Pamunkey Regional Library offers access to magazine indexes and databases from the library on our web site. These databases allow users to search for magazine articles on a wide variety of topics including author interviews and book reviews.  You will need your library card number to access some of these databases from work, home, or school.

 

Author Blogs and Web Sites

Back to top of page

 

 

Branch Libraries

 

Richard S. Gillis, Jr.
Ashland Branch Library

201 S. Railroad Avenue
804-798-4072

 

Atlee Branch Library
9161 Atlee Road
804-559-0654

 

Goochland Branch Library
3075 River Road West
804-556-4774

 

Hanover Branch Library
7527 Library Drive
804-365-6210

 

King & Queen Branch Library
396 Newtown Road
804-769-1623

 

Mechanicsville Branch Library
7461 Sherwood Crossing Place
804-746-9615

 

Lois Wickham Jones
Montpelier Branch Library

17205 Sycamore Tavern Lane
804-883-7116

 

Cochrane Rockville Branch Library
16600 Pouncey Tract Road
804-749-3146

 

Upper King William Branch Library
694-J Sharon Road
804-769-3731

 

West Point Branch Library
721 Main Street
804-843-3244

 

  Go to Axis360

 

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional